In the early 1950s a number of local citizens decided to form a lawn bowls club in Beaumaris. Following discussions with the then City of Sandringham, approval was given for the club to lease land in the F. L. Yott reserve and establish a Bowling Club. Considerable hard work was involved in setting up the club and its green and in 1955 it became affiliated with RVBA, followed in 1957 with the Ladies joining with the VLBA.
From its humble beginnings of a tin shed and one green together with the generous use of member’s homes for social activities, the club has evolved over the years to its present magnificent club house and two good quality greens.
As the Club grew in numbers and in bowling experience, it became well established within the two Associations. It reached its peak in the 1980s with six men’s and five ladies’ pennant sides. The bowling achievements of members are well documented on the several honor boards.
The Club was selected to host the International “Jack High” series from 1981 to 1985 and has been the premier Melbourne Lawn Bowls venue for a range of high profile events. The greens have been given consistently high ratings each year.
The Club is very proud of its gardens, the outstanding BBQ area and the “Founders” garden.